Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

error message on trying to update asciidoctor-pdf

Elisa
I am copying information into a new post so that it's clear what problem I'm not trying to solve. Please both pardon me and correct me if this is not how I should be handling this. :-)

I am running RVM and got into some snarly issues with attempting to update to latest versions of Ruby, asciidoctor, and asciidoctor-pdf. Right now I have RVM set to run 3.0.0.

As a tech writer I have found having RVM useful but am a rather naive user. I might have inadvertently created some sort of conflict in trying to update RVM, Ruby, and gems that are needed to run asciidoctor. This recently became a time sink for me.

As indicated in my prior post, I need to be able to have footnotes in my pdfs.

Here is the error that I get when trying to update to the latest asciidoctor-pdf:

$ gem update asciidoctor-pdf
Updating installed gems
Updating asciidoctor-pdf
ERROR:  While executing gem ... (NoMethodError)
    undefined method `request' for nil:NilClass

Any ideas?
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: error message on trying to update asciidoctor-pdf

abelsromero
Simple option, use Ruby 2.7.x for now. asciidoctor-pdf has some issues with 3.x, seems similar to this one https://discuss.asciidoctor.org/Unable-to-install-asciidoctor-pdf-td8487.html#a8492.

In short:
$ rvm install ruby-2.7
$ rvm remove ruby-3.0.0
$ gem install asciidoctor-pdf

Check you only have one version of asciidoctor and asciidoctor-pdf with "gem list | grep asciidoctor". If you have more than one, "gem  uninstall GEM_NAME GEM_VERSION" to remove the ones causing troubles.
Reply | Threaded
|

abelsromero
In reply to this post by Elisa
About the footnotes, I could generate a PDF successfully with this versions (below) and command "asciidoctor-pdf -d book demo.adoc".

>>> ruby -v