Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
12 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

glossary conundrum

coley
Hey, Asciidoc community! I'm a tech writer who is new to Asciidoc and find it so refreshingly clean, simple to learn, and fairly comprehensive. Thank you!

We are in the process of creating glossaries. The current opinion is a few separate glossaries geared toward the level of knowledge of the user. My preference, however, is one glossary that can be manipulated.

Let's say you have 3 distinct groups of potential readers and 50 terms to define. 20 terms apply to most readers. Then, there are 10 terms that apply only to Group 1, 10 for Group 2, and 10 for Group 3. Is there a way to have all 50 terms in one glossary, tagging the 10 terms each as Group 1, Group 2, and Group 3 respectively, and tagging the 20 terms as Groups 1, 2, & 3? And then readers could filter by group?

Thank you!
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: glossary conundrum

David Jencks
My understanding of css is limited, but I think you can do this by assigning styles to the terms and then adjusting the visibility with css and javascript.

https://asciidoctor.org/docs/user-manual/#custom-styling-with-attributes explains how to apply custom styles.  IIUC, you could say

[.group1]#Term1 means Foo!#
[.group2]#Term2 means Bar!#

Hope this helps!
David Jencks

On Feb 6, 2020, at 7:44 AM, coley [via Asciidoctor :: Discussion] <[hidden email]> wrote:

Hey, Asciidoc community! I'm a tech writer who is new to Asciidoc and find it so refreshingly clean, simple to learn, and fairly comprehensive. Thank you!

We are in the process of creating glossaries. The current opinion is a few separate glossaries geared toward the level of knowledge of the user. My preference, however, is one glossary that can be manipulated.