Why does the default output of asciidoctor-pdf look so ugly?

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
16 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Why does the default output of asciidoctor-pdf look so ugly?

Ralf Jahns
Hello,

I had to write some documentation and did it with microsoft word. But I also wanted to try asciidoctor and I really like it.

But when I compare the word document and the output of asciidoctor-pdf, I must say, that the asciidoctor document looks worse. I was able to modify the look of the tables a little bit, though I have no CSS knowledge. Perhaps I could do more if I spend some time. BUT - why is the default-template.yml not adjustet more carefully? Does the develper expect everybody to work on the yaml file? And why? In my humble opinion the HTML output looks O.K., so why is the pdf so neglected?

Just my 2 cents
Ralf
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Why does the default output of asciidoctor-pdf look so ugly?

mojavelinux
Administrator
I know it may no be your intention, but I find your comments to be extremely insensitive. I dedicate a very large portion of my life to maintaining Asciidoctor, much of which has been focused on Asciidoctor PDF over the past year. I work very hard to make it look the best I can. If you don't like the result, you're free to customize the theme using the theming system or extend the converter to make it suit your fancy. It's open source. But you don't have to put down the work of others to get what you want.

You aren't going to win any friends here with your aggressive remarks. This is open source and you need to respect the process, contract, and the people who work on it if you want to be welcomed in this community.

Thank you for understanding,

-Dan

On Fri, Jan 24, 2020 at 1:41 PM Ralf Jahns [via Asciidoctor :: Discussion] <[hidden email]> wrote:
Hello,