Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
4 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Questions from a novice

Conrad
Hello, I am new to AsciiDoc(tor)(J). I installed a lot of things and tested it, but I still do not understand the concepts. Hopefully I may ask my Questions here:
1) https://asciidoctor.org/docs/asciidoctorj/ describes the installation. I can download the jar and run in. Everything works as described. I even got extensions to work. I just added the extensions to the classpath. So, why do I Need to use Maven as decribed in the documentation?
2) the second chapter also describes installation, now with cocolatey. Why do I need this?
3) does AsciiDoctorJ uses Asciidoctor-libraries? Could I just add extensions writen for Asciidoctor and use them by AsciidoctorJ?
4) I like AsciidocFX. Does this tool uses ist own Asciidoctor-implementation? I also read that Opal is used to compile AsciiDoctor.  So what does that mean? Can I use these implementations within AsciidocFX, e.g. the pdf-generator.
5) AsciidocFX does not generate a TOC for pdf. Can I fix that with another genartor (like I can "bind" Amazons ebook-generator for epub.

Many thanks in advance, Conrad
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Questions from a novice

abelsromero
Welcome to the community! :D

Let's see if I can add some light, point by point.

Conrad wrote
1) https://asciidoctor.org/docs/asciidoctorj/ describes the installation. I can download the jar and run in. Everything works as described. I even got extensions to work. I just added the extensions to the classpath. So, why do I Need to use Maven as decribed in the documentation?