Am I missing something big about book production?

Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
16 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Am I missing something big about book production?

shai
Hi,
I have a feeling I'm missing a big piece of knowledge about the process of book production. I've been using asciidoc for a few years both in our website and developer guide. It works great for these cases.

However, I'm now in the process of publishing a new book. I'm trying to get it to a level of refinement I see from big publishers like O'Reilly, Manning etc. both of which use Asciidoc. But I can't seem to get styling/functionality even close to what these books have. I'm assuming they don't use asciidoctor-pdf as it doesn't support footnotes/image wrapping etc. So I went with the FOP backend which would also allow customizing the docbook output for features that aren't supported in asciidoc yet (e.g. inline callouts, image wrapping etc.).

But is that what they do? Or is there some other toolchain in the professional realm that I'm ignorant about?
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Am I missing something big about book production?

Andrew Carver
I can't address your question from relevant professional experience. But one thing is certain: the main, crucial book  on DocBook customization is the one by Bob Stayton, DocBook XSL: The Complete Guide, 4th edition. That book is available in softcover, or online in HTML (http://www.sagehill.net/docbookxsl/index.html). Everyone using DocBook needs to read at least some of that book, if just for learning the ropes, and to have it handy as a reference. By doing so, you'll see that the flexibility and control you have over the styling/functionality is pretty extensive, even using only stylesheet-parameters to customize. (If you're comfortable modifying XSLT, then you have basically complete control.)