Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
7 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

inline images in conversion to pdf

Andrew J
Although I have been using asciidoc for some time now, I am new to asciidoctor and asciidoctor-pdf. I am also just starting to write documentation including inline images.

I have a lengthy (but relatively straightforward) asciidoc document to render both in html and pdf.  The document includes multiple inline images, generally using the syntax  

image:images/image.png[width=300,link="images/image.png"]

They come out fine rendered in html, but I am having problems converting to pdf with the latest release of asciidoctror-pdf.

I am getting loads of messages - asciidoctor: WARNING: conversion missing in backend pdf for inline_image

and, although I am getting a very nice looking pdf file, it does not contain any of the images!

Am I missing something here?

Thanks

Andrew
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: inline images in conversion to pdf

mojavelinux
Administrator
This feature is in active development and there is an open pull request. If you have time to test it, that would really help move it forward.

As the implementation stands now, the inline image will not affect the line height. Therefore, it has to fit in the line or else it will overflow into the lines above and below. I'm looking into how difficult it will be to get the line height to shift if the image is larger.

Cheers,

-Dan

On Wed, Jun 10, 2015 at 4:30 AM, Andrew J [via Asciidoctor :: Discussion] <[hidden email]> wrote:
Although I have been using asciidoc for some time now, I am new to asciidoctor and asciidoctor-pdf. I am also just starting to write documentation including inline images.

I have a lengthy (but relatively straightforward) asciidoc document to render both in html and pdf.  The document includes multiple inline images, generally using the syntax  

image:images/image.png[width=300,link="images/image.png"]