Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
9 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

guard - generating to a different directory

snicoll
First of all I am very new to Ruby so sorry if it is a dumb question.

I am trying to port the Guardfile of the spring framework developer documentation so that it generates its index.html at the same location as the gradle build.

I changed it slightly to generate (and watch) to another directory, something like

Asciidoctor.render_file(m[0], :to_dir => File.expand_path("../../build/reference/htmlsingle", __FILE__), ...

Nothing happens. However, if I run the same command from a simple ruby file, it works. I could not find a way to debug this and running guard with -d does not help much.

Any clue?

Thanks!
Stéphane
Reply | Threaded
|

Re: guard - generating to a different directory

LightGuardjp
Welcome!

Looking at the email and the small bit of code you've posted I don't see anything wrong with that. The expand_path is a bit odd though. If you already know where it needs to go, just put it there instead of using the expand path. It's possible that expand_path is getting confused because the second argument is a file instead of a directory. 

Also, what do you have in the watch arg? Maybe posting you're whole Guardfile will help. 

Sent from Mailbox for iPhone

On Wed, Jan 8, 2014 at 2:52 AM, snicoll [via Asciidoctor :: Discussion] <[hidden email]> wrote:

First of all I am very new to Ruby so sorry if it is a dumb question.

I am trying to port the Guardfile of the spring framework developer documentation so that it generates its index.html at the same location as the gradle build.

I changed it slightly to generate (and watch) to another directory, something like

Asciidoctor.render_file(m[0], :to_dir => File.expand_path("../../build/reference/htmlsingle", __FILE__), ...