Previous Topic Next Topic

classic Classic list List threaded Threaded
6 messages Options
Reply | Threaded
Open this post in threaded view
|

Legal AsciiDoc

tbrooke
I am a lawyer and I have come to the conclusion that Word is the bane of the legal profession. I have looked at several alternatives and I have concluded that what is needed is a separation of the content and the structure of legal documents.

I have looked at latex, lawtex, markdown, legal-markdown restructuredtext and now finally Asciidoc.

Asciidoc may not be perfect for legal applications but it appears to be a standard and I believe that it could be easily adopted. Markdown seems almost universal and it's support on github is a huge asset but I just do not beieve that it supports enough in the way of formatting for legal materials.

Any thoughts on AsciiDoc for legal documents and legislation

TOm Brooke

Reply | Threaded
|

Re: Legal AsciiDoc

asotobu
Hi Tom, well I have used AsciiDoc for technical projects, not for lawyer documents which is a great news because it means that AsciiDoc is being spread across the globe :D.

Would you like to explain us what are your requirements to see if they fit well in AsciiDoc? If not maybe we can discuss an addition to Asciidoctor, or even create a lawyer extension (or templates) for you and other people who have similar requirements

So happy you has decided to use AsciiDoc and Asciidoctor.

Alex
Reply | Threaded
|

tbrooke
Thank You for the response

I am actually thinking about two separate contexts that could actually be unified somewhat.

The first is legislation and the second is documents and contracts - Since they often mirror each other common features would be helpful.

Two Attempts that I have seen are:

Black Acre Labs

Legal Markdown